Honda Passport Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up my Passport in late February and it came with the stock Continentals. Curious how they will be in the snow. I live in sometimes snowy New England. Although this winter we’ve seen very little snow. None since I’ve owned it. I am interested to hear what drivers are using for tires in snowy climates. Do most drivers use all season or switch over to snow tires? I do go skiing so driving in the snow is on mostly highways, snow covered side roads and parking lots.

·
Registered
69 Posts
I have 17" snow tires and its a freaking tank! Alot of my driving done on unplowed backroads at night. I cant answer your question but by the looks of the stock tires I wouldnt drive on them in winter

·
Premium Member
2020 Passport Elite - Modern Steel Metallic w/Black Leather
825 Posts
I’ve been using all season continentals for the last 12 years on 2005 Pilot in the northeast and they work quite well in the snow. Plus, lots of tread life. The first set, I got about 65,000 on them, the second about the same, and I’m on the third set now. I forget what the Pilot came with when it was new.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I live in the Boston area and make frequent ski trips to Vermont. I bought a set of used 18" Pilot wheels and I'm running Nokian Hakka R3 SUV winter tires on our Passport.
Amazing traction in really difficult conditions. Excellent braking and turning as well.

If you want one year-round all-season tire, go with a Nokian WRG4 on 18" Ridgeline wheels.

·
Read Only
394 Posts
Before investing in snow tires, even with living in the northeast, evaluate if you really have a need for a winter snow tire or if a really quality all season would work. If you're living in Canada like qwikz, well you may not see real solid ground until April/May and then only for 3 or 4 months. Winter tires are pretty much a must.