Honda Passport Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Registered
701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When do most of you get an oil change based on maintenance minder? 20% oil life left? 15%? 10?
I just curious what other owners do. I do not want to start a conversation about ignoring maintenance minder and going by mileage or time. Thanks in advance for your replies.

· Registered
2021 Passport Elite
529 Posts
The maintenance minder goes by mileage and time. I have a 2021 Elite that I purchased in November of 2020. My Passport sits in the garage a lot. I have just under 1900 miles on it and the maintenance minder comes on every October at 15%. I have to get my state inspection by the end of November every year so I let the dealership change the oil when I have the inspection.

· Registered
198 Posts
When MM code first pops up at 15% during startup, I get my tools out.
I'm a driveway mechanic, so I'm usually already stocked up on oil, oil filter, air filter, etc.
To me "A" code always means "B" service (Oil change without filter change - is Honda nuts? o_O )
So far it's only been oil/filter changes, rotate tires, change/bleed brake fluid, Dual Pump diff fluid, air filter). And since I'm crawling around under vehicle and under hood, I also carefully look for a-n-y signs of a-n-y fluid leaks, loose undercarriage panels, etc . . . and verify other fluids (power steering, brake fluid, washer fluid, blinker fluid, etc).
Whenever other MM codes pop up, including [3] transmission/transfer fluids, I will address those at the 15% notification too.

· Daimyo
2021 Honda Passport Elite - Tonbo-Giri⛩️
434 Posts
With the specific motor oil that I am using I am 100% comfortable taking the oil percentage down to 0% or 10,000 miles whichever comes first.

· Registered
2022 Trailsport
225 Posts