Honda Passport Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in NH and it is time to consider whether or not I should get winter tires. My previous cars were a 2007 Honda Pilot 4WD and before that a 2000 Toyota Sienna AWD. Both vehicles did great in snow and it was not needed for me to get a different set of tires for winter. Where I live is hilly so I will need the traction in the winter weather. With that said, I am a good driver in snow and ice, knowing how to handle the vehicle to prevent going off the road or the other lane of traffic.

·
Registered
2019 Passport Elite
644 Posts
We had lived in New England and our last winter was in 2014-2015 when it was the worst. If all-season tires have been sufficient for you in the past, it may be sufficient for you with the Passport and needs? However, all-season tires are no substitute for winter tires. Traction for stopping is as critical and forward motion. I had a set of winter tires on a couple of previous FWD Accord and they handled great in the snow and slush. Icy roads is a challenge even for winter tires. As you already know, it is best to wait for the roads to be plowed or treated when it gets really bad.

Another story to relay... Our son was returning to college in Albany following a job interview in CT. The weather had turned bad with icy conditions on I-90. En-route, he reported that there were a number of cars that had gone off the road. He was driving an Accord with winter tires and did arrive at his destination safely... attributed to his safe driving and winter tires.

·
2019 Touring: since March-2019
3,114 Posts
Sorry, I'm in Southern California and have no idea what snow tires even are...

Reactions: Werlyb23

·
Registered
6 Posts